Celebrating 90 years of service
 

History

Behind every milestone is a story and an unwavering commitment to advancing medicine.

Explore the history of Our Lady of the Lake including key people, places and milestones since the hospital’s founding in 1923.

1911
Mother de Bethanie Crowley and five Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady made a historic voyage from Calais, France to America to further their Order's mission of serving the sick and needy in Louisiana.

1921
Monsignor Francis Leon Gassler of St. Joseph's Cathedral and a group of leading local physicians ask Mother de Bethanie to consider opening a hospital in Baton Rouge.

1923
Our Lady of the Lake Sanitarium opens on Nov. 4 with 100 beds, six surgical suites and a nursing school on a 17-acre site near the former LSU campus.

1926
The first class of student nurses – nine young women and Franciscan Sister Marie Madeleine Lemoine – graduate from Our Lady of the Lake School of Nursing.

Early 1930s
Technological advances in medicine such as the X-ray machine and high-powered microscopes are introduced at Our Lady of the Lake.

1941
A wing is added to the hospital increasing beds from 100 to 200 along with a new chapel and obstetrics department and delivery suite.

1945
Our Lady of the Lake begins services for children and opens a pediatric wing.

1964
The congregation’s name officially changes from Franciscan Sisters of Calais to Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady in 1964.

1966
Ollie Steele Burden Manor Nursing Home opens to extend the healing ministry of Christ to senior residents.

1978
Our Lady of the Lake moves to Essen Lane campus. The original hospital was closed and a 460-bed Regional Medical Center opens.

1984
The Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System is formed.

1993
OLOL Physician Group begins with three doctors. Today, with more than 250 providers throughout 40 locations, Our Lady of the Lake Physician Group is one of the area's largest primary networks and is still growing.

1996
OLOL acquires Assumption Community Hospital and begins operations on December 23.

2005
Our Lady of the lake Children’s Hospital is officially named.

2012
Campus in Livingston parish is established including a freestanding emergency room, imaging center and physician offices.

2013
Our Lady of the Lake becomes primary graduate medical education teaching site in Baton Rouge for Louisiana State University School of Medicine residency programs.

Opens Heart & Vascular Institute, a 9-story building with 141 beds dedicated to heart, vascular and critical care.

Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center stands as a living, working model of modern healthcare, inspired each day by the mission of Mother de Bethanie and the Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady.